Death Stranding save transfer to PS5’s Director’s Cut explained

Death Stranding’s save transfer feature allows you to continue your progress from the PS4 version of the game to the 2021 Director’s Cut on PS5.

Whether you’re in the final state of the game or you’re still making your way across America and aren’t done with the story, you can pick up where you left off and take full advantage of the next-gen versions’ additions, including a new race mode. .

Unlike recent PS5 games like Ghost of Tsushima on PS5 which, to quote Digital Foundry, “just works,” there is some preparation involved, and things you should know before a save transfer when it comes to waiting and what keep going.

In this page:


Death Stranding Director’s Cut for PS5: Technical Review by Digital Foundry

If you’re looking for help on the critical path, our Death Stranding walkthrough can help you.

How to Transfer Death Stranding Saves to PS5: Death Stranding Save Transfer Explained

To transfer your Death Stranding save from PS4 to PS5, you must upload the save to the game servers. To do that, you must first install the PS4 version of Death Stranding.

Whether you do this on the PS4 or the PS5 via backwards compatibility doesn’t matter. Once it is installed, or if you already have it installed, make sure it is updated to version 1.13 and higher, open your saved game.

From there, to transfer from Death Stranding on PS4 to PS5, you must:

  1. Make sure you don’t have Open Orders available
  2. Stand at a delivery terminal
  3. Open the system menu
  4. Select the Export saved data option

Then, after accepting the warnings about the save transfer, which we discuss in the next section, your save will load.

Then we finish with the PS5 version of the game. Now start the Director’s Cut version of Death Stranding, select “Load Game (PlayStation 4 to PlayStation 5)” from the main menu to save the server file.

With the save safely downloaded (and, as mentioned, removed from the server now that it’s on your console), you should see all the trophies you earned in the PS4 version unlocked again in the Director’s Cut. When you are ready, you can start the game and enjoy the new features.

Tomorrow is in our hands, again! Learn about new features in Director’s Cut, including new story missions, a career mode, Half-Life missions, and how to transfer saves to PS5. Our main Death Stranding walkthrough describes how to play the story, including the Episode 3 missions, the small thermonuclear device, and how to find a way to change Lockne’s mind. As you play, you can find memory chip locations and learn how Death Stranding multiplayer works.

What’s transferring from Death Stranding on PS4 to PS5 and how to fix the open orders issue

The steps above are quite simple, with the only drawback having to do with the Open Orders available, which will prevent you from loading your save.

The most obvious solution is to complete them, but that may take a while. Although it may not be obvious at first, you should be able to cancel most open orders within the quest area of ​​the game. However, not all of them can be cancelled, such as tutorials on new tools or structures that you have learned and not completed during the course of the story. Once you have completed them and have a clear list, you can save the upload.

When you load and save, you’ll be given a long list of things that stay and don’t stay, found in a gallery of screenshots below. Otherwise, here’s a summary of what’s included, if you’d rather read ahead or just want the highlights:

  • Story progress, souvenir ships, and rewards will carry over.
  • Cargo not carried by Sam or in private lockers will be lost; that includes anything found in mailboxes, safe houses, or in the countryside.
  • Content shared online, including structures and vehicles, will be lost as the game pulls data from a new server. (This is probably because in the director’s cut “some terrain data has been updated.”) However, everything you have built, including signs, cairns, and golden mushrooms, will “be redeployed” when you approach their locations. Anything that clashes with the changes in the terrain will not.
  • Any routes you created will remain but will no longer be shared.
  • Information about players with whom you have formed Bridge Links or Strand Contacts will be lost.

Enjoy many new features, such as career mode, in Director’s Cut!

Categories: Guides
Source: sef.edu.vn

Leave a Comment