Death Stranding walkthrough and guide to completing deliveries in the post-apocalypse

Death Stranding is the first project from Kojima Productions following Konami, the creator of the Metal Gear Solid series, which sees the studio branch out and create its own version of an open-world adventure.

Although it shares several similarities with Metal Gear Solid 5: The Phantom Pain, Kojima’s latest game, the setting and objectives could not be further apart.

Yes, you’re using devices to hide among enemy camps, but it’s all about delivering cargo and connecting bunkers and isolated cities across a vast post-apocalyptic landscape. You also carry a baby in a capsule to help spot invisible monsters, while Guillermo del Toro occasionally calls you to talk about your next mission. As we say, it is quite different.

In this page:

Death Stranding Director’s Cut for PS5: Technical Review by Digital Foundry

This Death Stranding walkthrough explains what you need to know to beat Death Stranding’s main set of quests and objectives, and the structure that connects them, as well as a list of our other Death Stranding guides that can help you with other parts of the game. .

How our Death Stranding tutorial works

Despite the strange premise, Death Stranding’s structure is surprisingly simple. Once you’re in Episode 2, the game opens up, allowing you to freely explore the eastern US and make deliveries.

As the story progresses, you must complete the list of Orders in, well, order, which provide the path you need to start connecting bunkers and compounds across the map.

You can also accept optional Standard Orders, which often take you to previous locations, or focus on Orders for Sam, most of which are necessary to advance the story.

New episodes feature new areas to explore, as our hero Sam Porter Bridges travels across the US, connecting them.

So if you want to follow the story, focus on these main Orders, but of course there are plenty of distractions along the way, including building structures to help others in Death Stranding’s multiplayer, if you want to take some time to do so. . those.

Our Death Stranding walkthrough lists explain roughly what’s included in each episode, with links to pages dedicated to the episode, and request walkthroughs if necessary, as some missions are more difficult than others.

Death Stranding Mission List

This is how Death Stranding plays out:

Prologue: Goalkeeper

  • There is only one mission: Order 1: Smart Medicine Delivery. You must deliver at least one shipment of Smart Drug in this short tutorial mission. Simply cross the river to find Central Knot City, then head to the delivery terminal.

Episode 1: Brigida

  • There are two missions here: Order 2: Morphine Delivery: Isolation Room, which is a short walk from building to building, and then the more challenging Order 3: Cremation: President’s Body, where you’ll find your first BT.

Episode 2: Amelia

  • This allows you to reconnect the Eastern Region, with the ultimate goal of incorporating Port Knot City into the Chiral Network, and introduces concepts such as Mules, multiplayer, and vehicles.
  • Our Episode 2 quest page explains how to complete Orders 4 to 16, including the particularly challenging Order 7.

Episode 3: Fragile

  • This has the ultimate goal of incorporating South Knot City into the Chiral Network.
  • Our Episode 3 quest page explains how to complete Orders 18 to 38, including the particularly challenging Orders 33 and 38.

Episode 4: Unger

Episode 5: Mom

Episode 6: Dead Man

  • This chapter will allow you to gather more facilities around Mountain Knot City without BB’s help.
  • Our Episode 6 quest page explains how to complete Orders 47 to 53.

Episode 7: Clifford

  • This chapter will allow you to explore your second battlefield and reach Heartman’s laboratory.
  • Our Episode 7 quest page explains how to complete Orders 54-56.

Episode 8: The Man of the Heart

  • This chapter explores a series of facilities in the snow-covered mountain region, before returning to Heartman Laboratory and then heading west.
  • Our Episode 8 quest page explains how to complete Orders 58 and 62.
  • Once this is done, you will have to find a way to cross the tar belt.

Episode 9: Higgs

  • This chapter will take you to the westernmost point of the country: Edge Knot City.
  • Our Episode 9 quest page explains how to complete Orders 63 and 64.
  • In addition to this, you will have a boss battle against Higgs.

Episode 10: The Hard Man

  • This chapter heads back east to Lake Knot City.
  • Our Episode 10 quest page explains how this chapter works.

Episode 11: Clifford Unger

  • In this chapter you will enter another battlefield and face Cliff.
  • Our Episode 11 quest page explains how this chapter works.

Episode 12: Bridges

  • This chapter will allow you to make the final leg of your journey back east, which will end in Capital Knot City.
  • Our episode 12 and final boss page explain how this chapter works.

Episode 13: Sam Strand

Episode 14: Lou

  • This chapter is another story-based mission with one main objective – our Episode 14 page explains how it works.

Episode 15: Tomorrow is in your hands

Other Death Stranding guides

Here are our other Death Stranding guides if you need help with other parts of the game:

System explainers



Director’s Cut Features

Categories: Guides

Leave a Comment