World Tiers in Diablo 4 explained

Instead of having a general difficulty system solely for combat, Diablo 4 weaves its difficulty system into a central part of the experience through a ‘world-level’ system.

These not only provide a more challenging and demanding gaming experience, but also modify the rewards received, whether through currency and XP multipliers, or unlocking new loot qualities – it’s a system you’ll have to engage with if you want to. Delve into the true ending of the game. from Diablo 4.

In this guide, we’ll explain how to unlock and change world tier, world tier modifiers and unlocks, and what a Capstone Dungeon is.

In this page:

Diablo 4 Season Pass Explained

How to increase and change world level in Diablo 4

World Tiers are a different approach to difficulty that integrates as a deeper part of the Diablo 4 experience and unlocks the full endgame experience.

At launch, there are four world tiers: Adventurer, Veteran, Nightmare, and Torment.

The first of two world tiers (Adventurer and Veteran) are unlocked from the start, and whether you start with one or the other, you’re free to switch to either of these at any time during your journey.

The selection of world levels 1 and 2 after creating a character.

The third and fourth world tiers, Nightmare and Torment, are unlocked after completing the campaign and completing the Cathedral of Light and Fallen Temple Capstone dungeons at world tiers 2 and 3 respectively.

You can change the world level at any time, either from the character selection screen or from the world level statues located throughout the map.

Left: The world-class statue in Kyovashad. Middle – The character select screen with the ‘Change World Level’ option on the right side of the screen. Right: the world level selection screen.

You can see the current world level you are playing on at any time below the map in the top right corner of the screen.

Capstone dungeons in Diablo 4 explained

A Capstone Dungeon is a more challenging dungeon experience meant to be a “gear check” that ensures you’re ready to level up and progress to the next world level.

As such, when you try one of these for the first time, you may find it difficult to overcome the challenge within.

If that’s the case, you’ll want to complete some of the other activities and content around the world to earn more powerful gear, or modify your skill tree and skill points to find a build that helps you overcome the challenge.

The requirements to unlock World Tier 3, including clearing the Capstone Dungeon ‘Cathedral of Light’.

If you’re stuck for ideas or which builds to try, consider checking out our class tier list guide and the class-specific guides linked within that page.

However, once you have met the requirements and cleared the required Capstone Dungeon, you will be ready to move on to the next world level.

World Tier Mods and Unlocks in Diablo 4

By ascending to higher world tiers, not only does the difficulty increase, but also the type of rewards you can expect to see, as well as the final content available.

When playing World Tiers 1 or 2, both have access to the same available content, but the latter grants wins multiplied by XP and gold.

Enemy modifiers and experience gains at World Tier 2: Veteran.

The same goes for other world tiers, and each of them has various adjustments to enemy difficulty and experience gain, as shown below:

World Ranking Recommended level and enemy and experience adjustments.
WT1 – Adventurer Recommended for levels 1-50

“Enemies are easy to defeat”

WT2 – Veteran Recommended for levels 1-50

‘Enemies are more challenging’ – 20 percent bonus XP and 15 percent more gold

WT3 – Nightmare Recommended for levels 50-70

‘Enemies are more formidable’ – ‘Monsters exceed 20 percent resistance’ – 100 percent additional XP and 15 percent more gold from monsters

WT4 – Torment Recommended for levels 70+

‘Enemies are more fearsome’ – ‘Monsters exceed 40 percent resistance’ – 200 percent additional XP and 15 percent more gold

Additionally, World Tiers 3 and 4 unlock additional items, content, and world changes in addition to their respective enemy settings; are the following:

  • Sacred and unique items now appear.
  • Nightmare Sigils used to ‘open’ Nightmare Dungeons now drop
  • Infernal tides appear in Sanctuary
  • Champion monsters with damage resistance auras now spawn.
  • Ancient items and new unique items now drop (world level 4 only)

The idea is that as you progress through the game and your character becomes stronger, you increase the world level to match the overall difficulty with your current power, and in return you gain additional, more powerful rewards.

The complete description of World Tier 3 – Nightmare, including the modifiers and world changes it brings.

If you want to know which classes are best to use, be sure to check out our list of class tiers, or if you’re looking for what to do after reaching World Tier 3, you can check out our guide. about how Renown works.

To view this content, please enable targeting cookies. Manage cookie settings

Categories: Guides

Leave a Comment