Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya Foundation Day 2023: History, Significance & A Lot More To Know

Prime Minister Narendra Modi greeted the people of Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya on Statehood Day, which falls on January 21. On that day, all three states became full-fledged states.

Statehood Day greetings to the people of Manipur. The state has made progress in several aspects over the past few years. I pray that the aspirations of the people of this state are fulfilled and Manipur continues to strengthen India’s growth trajectory.

– Narendra Modi (@narendramodi)
January 21, 2023

On Statehood Day, my best wishes to the people of Tripura. The last five years have been notable for Tripura’s growth trajectory. From agriculture to industry, from education to health, the state has undergone a major transformation. May this trend continue in the coming times.

– Narendra Modi (@narendramodi)
January 21, 2023

Greetings to the people of Meghalaya on Statehood Day. This state is known for its vibrant culture, particularly music, art and passion for sports. The people of Meghalaya have excelled in various fields. I pray for the continued progress of Meghalaya in the years to come.

– Narendra Modi (@narendramodi)
January 21, 2023

Northeast India comprises seven states and is therefore also known as the “Seven Sisters”, namely Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura. The northeastern region of India has hills and plains with green cover and various varieties of rare and exotic flora and fauna. Let us study in detail the formation of Tripura, Mizoram and Meghalaya.

Formation of the states of Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya

On 21 January 1972, the states of Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya became full-fledged states under the North Eastern Region (Reorganisation) Act, 1971.

The princely states of Tripura and Manipur were merged with India in October 1949. Let us study in detail the Reorganization of the State of the Northeast.

At the time of independence, the regional composition of the North East consisted of the Assam Plains of the erstwhile Assam Province, the Hill Districts and the North East Frontier Areas (NEFT) of the North Eastern Frontier. Furthermore, the princely states of Manipur and Tripura were merged in 1949 into India.

In 1949, the states of Manipur and Tripura were granted the status of Union Territories. Nagaland was granted statehood on December 1, 1963. According to the Sixth Schedule of the Indian constitution, within Assam, Meghalaya was made an autonomous state by the Assam (Meghalaya) Reorganization Act, 1969.

READ| Which Indian states share borders with Bangladesh?

Finally, in 1972, Tripura, Meghalaya gained full statehood through the North East Reorganization Act, 1972. Additionally, the Mizo Hills region of Assam and NEFA became a Union Territory.

As per the Mizo Agreement of 1986, Mizoram emerged as a full-fledged state of India in 1987. Furthermore, in 1987, NEFA (Arunachal Pradesh) was granted full-fledged statehood.

About Tripura

Tripura covers around 10,491 km2. It is bordered by Bangladesh (East Bengal) to the north, south and west and by the states of Assam and Mizoram to the east. The Bengali Hindu people form the ethnolinguistic majority in Tripura. Scheduled tribes (indigenous communities) form around 30 per cent of Tripura’s population. The tribes that speak the Kokborok language are the main groups among 19 tribes. Tripura’s climate is a tropical savannah climate and receives heavy seasonal rainfall from the southwest monsoon. Forests cover more than half of the area. It has the largest number of primate species. The people of Tripura perform various forms of dance and celebrate religious occasions, weddings and festivals. The Ujjayanta Palace situated in Agartala was the former royal abode of King Tripuri.

About Manipur

The capital of Manipur is Imphal and it also goes by various names like Kangleipak ​​or Sanaleibak. It is bordered to the north by Nagaland, to the south by Mizoram, to the west by Assam and to the east by Myanmar (Burma). It has an area of ​​22,327 square kilometers and a population of almost 3 million inhabitants, including the Meetei, Kuki, Naga and Pangal peoples who speak Sino-Tibetan languages. Manipur was also under British rule and negotiations were interrupted with the outbreak of World War II. Maharaja Budhachandra on September 21, 1949 signed a Treaty of Accession and merged the kingdom with India. About 53% of the population of the state of Manipur belongs to the Meetei ethnic group. The main language of the state of Manipur is Meeteilon or Manipuri. Indigenous tribal people make up 20% of the state’s population. It has an agrarian economy with significant hydroelectric energy generation potential. This state is also the origin of Manipuri dance.

State Foundation Day 2023: Wishes, Greetings, Quotes and More

About Meghalaya

In Sanskrit, Meghalaya means “the abode of clouds.” The state has an area of ​​about 22,430 square kilometers. It is bordered to the south by the Mymensingh and Sylhet divisions of Bangladesh. To the west with the Rangpur division in Bangladesh and to the east with Assam. Shillong is the capital of Meghalaya. Previously, Meghalaya was part of Assam, but the districts of Khasi, Garo and Jaintia Hills became the new state of Meghalaya on January 21, 1972. The languages ​​spoken are Khasi, Pnar, Garo and English. Meghalaya is the wettest region of India and around 70% of the state is covered with forests.

READ| Northeastern States at a Glance: (Seven Sisters of India)

Categories: Optical Illusion

Leave a Comment