Explained: What is Google’s Enhanced Safe Browsing?

Data breaches can have a significant impact on a person’s life and the most common scam witnessed by innocent people is email phishing, which can result in huge losses. According to Statista, 300,497 people fell victim to phishing in 2023, with a staggering 58,859 people facing data breaches.

And in the wake of increasing phishing attacks, Google is urging its users to enable enhanced safe browsing. The notification was first spotted by 9to5Google and reads: “Over the past few days, Google has been prominently promoting enhanced safe browsing in the Gmail apps.”

The notification is visible right above the inbox of Android, iOS, and desktop users. It reads: “Get extra protection against phishing”

“Turn on Enhanced Safe Browsing for extra protection against dangerous emails” Add.

You can easily opt out by clicking the “No Thanks” button, but if you want to add an extra layer of protection to your Google account, tapping the “Continue” button will take users to “Enhanced Safe Browsing for your account.” “.

jagranjosh

Source: Google

What exactly is Google’s Enhanced Safe Browsing?

According to Google account help, “Enhanced Safe Browsing for your account works automatically in the background to provide faster, proactive protection against dangerous websites, downloads, and extensions.”

“If you choose to turn on Enhanced Safe Browsing for your account, Enhanced Safe Browsing keeps you safe when you sign in and improves your security in Google Chrome and Gmail.” Add.

Essentially, this feature adds an extra layer of security to your Google Account. The security update arrived in 2020 and

The standard version of Safe Browsing works by comparing the URL of the sites you visit with a local list. Additionally, it detects and warns about dangerous events when they occur.

Enhanced Safe Browsing works on top of the standard version of Safe Browsing. It uses Google’s cloud-based servers to compare sites in real time against a much larger list of known dangerous websites.

Unlike the standard version, it predicts and warns of dangerous events before they occur.

It also warns users if their passwords are exposed in a data breach so they can change them immediately.

However, this comes at a cost. By enabling Enhanced Safe Browsing, Google can store your data for a short period of time and guarantees that it will be deleted after a while.

This is what a Google blog says: “By choosing Enhanced Safe Browsing, users will share additional security-related information to enhance their online protection. This data is used for security purposes only and is deleted after a short period of time.”

How to set up Enhanced Safe Browsing?

Here are the steps to enable Enhanced Safe Browsing on your desktop:

  • Click on the three dots in the upper right corner next to your profile photo.
  • Tap Settings and click Privacy & security
  • Scroll down and click Security
  • Click Enhanced Protection

In conclusion, while Enhanced Safe Browsing stores some of your data, it is a powerful tool that can help protect you from online threats. By enabling this security feature, you can help keep your personal information safe.

Categories: Optical Illusion
Source: sef.edu.vn

Leave a Comment